1. ICU Drive
  2. Documentation
  3. Getting Started with ICU Drive

Getting Started with ICU Drive

 

Table of Contents

How to Access Your Account
How to Upload Files
How to Download the Desktop ICU Drive software
ICU Drive
How to Share a File
3rd Party Share from Web UI
3rd Party Share from ICU Drive
Team-Share from Web UI
Team-Share from ICU Drive
Tracking Your Shares
Deleting a File
What Are Revisions
How to Restore a Previous Version What is the Backups Tab?
What is the Backups Tab?
Difference between Backups and Sync
Activity Log
Conclusion: Why choose ICU Drive over the competition?

How to Access Your Account

Hi welcome to ICU Drive! By now you should have received an email from your administrator with your account information. This will include your username and password.
Go to www.icudrive.com and log in.

login

Great! Now you should be logged in. You will see your personal dashboard where you can upload, download, share, and collaborate on files.

files

[divider_top]

How to Upload Files

To upload a file, navigate to the “Upload Files” button on the top left of your screen.

navigation

Once “Upload Files” is clicked it will redirect to a new page where you can drag and drop files to sync up to the cloud.

upload

An alternate way to upload is to click “Add Files” and search for files manually on your machine.

upload2

[divider_top]

How to Download the Desktop ICU Drive software

One of the main values of a file sync solution is being able to access files from all devices. So not only will you have your files in the cloud, but on local machines as well.
On the top right of the dashboard you will find a link “Download App”. This is where you will click to install the agent for offline file access.

save

Once you click “Download App” it will redirect you to a page to either download Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android apps.

apps

Choose the appropriate OS (Operating System) and follow the installation instructions to install on your local machine or device. After you finish installation it will ask for your credentials to log in.

[divider_top]

How to Share a File

The files in the cloud will then propagate down to that machine. Each file will show a blue icon, which means the file is now syncing. You can also upload files to the cloud by dropping files into your sync folder.

filesUpload1

Once files are done syncing down to the local machine, they will change to a green checkmark as seen below.

filesUpload2

[divider_top]

How to Share a File

There are two different ways to share files. The first way is called a 3rd party share. Using the 3rd party share you can share files with people who are not a user in the system. It will send a secure link to download the file. This would replace the obstacle of sharing large files through email.
The second way is called a team-share. Team-shares are used to share a folder with a specific group of users. The administrator can create these shares for your team.

3rd Party Share from Web UI

To share a file with an individual or group is simple. Just right click on any file or folder and click Share.

3rd-1

When you click share it will redirect to a form. Fill out all email addresses to share the file with. You can add an expiration date for the share to expire. Once the share expires the link will no longer be available. We also allow you to add a message if needed. If “Send unique link to each person?” is checked you will be able to track who opens and downloads the file.

3rd-2

After the “Share” button is clicked, a message will say, “Share links were sent successfully.” You will be left on a page that gives an option to download the file to your local machine, remove the share, go to your files, or track your shares.

3rd-3

[divider_top]

3rd Party Share from ICU Drive

Sometimes it is easier to do a 3rd party share directly from the sync folder. Just right click on the file, navigate to “Synced Tool”, and click “Share link”. This will redirect to the same form as above.

share

[divider_top]

Team-Share from Web UI

As we discussed earlier, Team-shares are used for team collaboration. These are different than personal folders. A team-share folder will have an icon with people on it. You know a folder is a team-share when this icon is visible. Anytime you change a file in this folder it will then update across everyone’s devices that are attached to that share. This allows collaboration in real time. You will also be able to access older versions of files which are called “revisions”

share1

[divider_top]

Team-Share from ICU Drive

As long as you have permission, you can access your team-share from your sync folder. Same as the web UI, anytime you change a file it will propagate to all other devices and users associated with the share.

teamshare

[divider_top]

Tracking Your Shares

You can track and view all of your team-shares and 3rd party shares. Just click on the “Shares” tab. On the top portion you will see your team-shares, and below your 3rd party shares.

teamShares

Only an administrator can delete a team-share. From the shares page you can browse your team-share files.

teamshares1

For 3rd party shares you can delete, track, and view your shares.

yourShares

[divider_top]

Deleting a File

Generally users aren’t allowed to delete their own files unless they have permission. If you right click and press “Delete” the file will still be on the server.

delete1

If you accidently deleted or need to find the file again it is easy to restore. On the top right of the screen next to the file search bar, you will find “Show Deleted”.

delete2

After you click “Show Deleted”, all deleted files will show up faded out.

delete3

[divider_top]

What Are Revisions

Revisions or versions of file changes are kept. You can go back to older versions of files very easily. From the web UI right click on the file and click “Revisions”.

revisions

[divider_top]

How to Restore a Previous Version

Once you click “Revisions” it will redirect to a screen where you can download older versions or restore an older version to the current revision. The most current version will be highlighted in green.

fileRevisions

[divider_top]

What is the Backups Tab?

As long as you have permission to you can use the “Backups” tab. Backups are used if you have files on your local machine that you don’t want to sync but still want a backup copy of. You can use our backup feature to choose folders or files which will sync to the server only. Any changes made to a document will also sync to the server. If you need to restore a backup, you can navigate to your “Backup” tab. Just find the file you need and click restore.

backups

[divider_top]

Difference between Backups and Sync

File Sync:

• File Sync allows remote file access from anywhere on all devices
• Revisions (File versioning)

Backup:

• Backups are files that aren’t in the “ICU Drive”
• Remotely backup files on your local machine.
• These files are saved on the server not in your “ICU Drive”
• Any time the file changes on the local machine it creates a revision on the server.
• You can restore backups from the Web UI under “Backups” tab.
• No file access remotely.

[divider_top]

Activity Log

The activity log is used to track all usage across the system. You can see when you deleted a file, made a change, or any other activity.

activityLog

[divider_top]

Conclusion: Why choose ICU Drive over the competition?

Data security: Most competitive file hosting services are not recommended for business networks. Usually all consumer data is secured by one encryption key. ICU Drive offers an unbreachable encryption technology that guarantees data security. In addition, information is stored at ICU Drive’s Network Operations Centre (NOC) located in Canada. This local oversight over the infrastructure further strengthens security.

Business functionality: Most competitive file hosting services are designed for consumer use. There is no integration with your business environment or applications. ICU Drive lets you integrate with Microsoft Active Directory.

Visibility: Most competitors offer limited access management and absolutely no reporting. With ICU Drive you have access to what employees are doing, data usage, revision histories of documents and much more.